More evidence that the world exists only on your iPod

Seems Nokia, the Finish maker of sleek mobile phones, has decided to get into the entertainment business by making exclusive deals to deliver content on its phones. In fact, they are making phones specifically for music and video delivery with the phone part of the equation just a small part of the attraction. More and more, the blending of news, entertainment and technology takes us into new territory as big media companies struggle with emerging technology companies in an attempt to capture and dominate consumer interest. Nokia’s Tero Ojanpera is quoted in the NY Times predicting that in the next 5 years, mobile phone users will create 25% of the entertainment watched on the so-called smartphones, like iPhones and Blackberries. Janpera asks:”Are you willing to play by the new rules?” well, sure we are but the question really is:”What are the new rules and who makes these rules anyway?”

Well, today the rules change every couple of days. The only real rule is that there are no rules. Those making the rules are the consumers who do it solely with their purchasing power. The iPhone’s success is not attributable to Apples genius, Steve Jobs marketing prowess or the fact that the technology is so amazing. It is a hit because people decided it was cool and they wanted it and they went out and bought it. Believe me, corporate America is littered with the trash of products brought to the market that, no matter how well marketed or ingeniously innovative, people just didn’t choose to buy.

TV on your phone, nobody watches NBC or goes to the record store anymore (in fact, I can’t find a record store anywhere) and my buddy’s 9 year old has his own blog. It’s a new world. I remember the first time I heard the term ‘rotoscope’ and I was fascinated by the concept. It’s the same with me now; I’m fascinated by the movement, the energy and the dynamics of the marketplace.

I have a great Minolta camera but I haven’t picked it up in an age. Why? It’s easy to take pictures with my cell phone and it clips to the belt on my pants. My phone looks alot like the gizmo that Scotty used to beam up Kirk.

And the great part is that there are no limits – on technology, on availability, on imagination. From now on all, when I deal with clients, I will be thinking not of where they are today but where they want to be tomorrow and which technology will get them there sooner.

This is exciting stuff. We have to all start thinking in new ways. And then, we will have to start thinking in new ways again. And as soon as we think of that we’ll have to start thinking in new ways again… get it?

One Response to “More evidence that the world exists only on your iPod”

Leave a comment